Home > Reading Challenges > Africa Reading Challenge! (Hosted by Kinna Reads)

Africa Reading Challenge! (Hosted by Kinna Reads)

Map of AfricaI’m super-excited to get to participate in a reading challenge this year that I heard rumblings about and was announced this week.  The Africa Reading Challenge!  Hosted by Kinna Reads.

According to Kinna, the rules are:

Challenge Period
January 1, 2012 to December 31, 2012

Region
The entire African continent, including its island-states, which are often overlooked. Please refer to this Wikipedia “list of sovereign states and dependent territories in Africa”. Pre-colonial empires and regions are also included.

Reading Goal
5 books.  That’s it.  There will be no other levels.  Of course, participants are encouraged to read more than 5 books.  Eligible books include those which are written by African writers, or take place in Africa, or are concerned with Africans and with historical and contemporary African issues. Note that at least 3 books must be written by African writers.

Why this challenge?
Getting to know Kinna and Amy in 2011 connected me to African lit and showed me the uniqueness of it.  I enjoyed reading it, so of course I want to read more!  Plus, participating in this challenge will hopefully call attention to this whole other world of books that is so frequently ignored in the book blogging world.  Also, reading is how I travel, and I just love visiting Africa through a writer’s eyes.

My (tentative) reading list:

  1. Music and Dance Traditions of Ghana: History, Performance and Teaching by Paschal Yao Younge (current tbr pile) Ghana
  2. Yellow-Yellow by Kaine Agary (current tbr pile) Nigeria
  3. The Chicken Thief by Fiona Leonard (current tbr pile) Ghana
  4. The Rabbi’s Cat 2 by Joann Sfar (current tbr pile) Algeria
  5. His Treasure (Men of Valor) by Kiru Taye (current tbr pile) Nigeria
  6. The Memory of Love by Aminatta Forna (wishlist) Sierra Leone
  7. Twenty Chickens for a Saddle: The Story of an African Childhood by Robyn Scott (wishlist) South Africa and Zimbabwe
  8. Death of the Mantis: A Detective Kubu Mystery by Michael Stanley (wishlist) Botswana
  9. Woman at Point Zero by Nawal El Saadawi (wishlist) Egypt
  10. The African American Odyssey of John Kizell: The Life and Times of a South Carolina Slave Who Returned to Fight the Slave Trade in His African Homeland by Kevin G. Lowther (wishlist) Sierra Leone
  11. Half of a Yellow Sun by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie (wishlist) Nigeria
  12. King Peggy: An American Secretary, Her Royal Destiny, and the Inspiring Story of How She Changed an African Village by Peggielene Bartels (wishlist) Ghana

I’m hoping to read all of these, but obviously the only ones set in stone are the ones I own.  Suggestions, both from my list and not, are welcome!  I’m excited by the new variety this challenge will bring to my blog and also for the camaraderie innate in reading challenges.  It’s gonna be a fun year. 🙂

  1. January 19, 2012 at 6:50 pm

    What a fun list 🙂 I like how much I’ve contributed to it, lol. I’ve read 6 of these titles myself and enjoyed them all. Additionally, I’ve read the first Detective Kubu book. Really must catch up in that series some day…

    • January 19, 2012 at 8:19 pm

      *snort* while making the list from my LibraryThing, I was like “Kinna….Amy….Kinna….Amy….Amy…Amy….” I am proud that at least the non-Ghana/Nigeria titles were my own doing. 😛

  2. January 20, 2012 at 3:43 am

    Thanks for participating. A correction: Forna is from Sierra Leone. Your list is impressive. I need to read Detective Kubu. Enjoy the challenge.

    • January 20, 2012 at 9:10 am

      Ahh I used LibraryThing to help me figure out the countries, and evidently it was very wrong on that one! Consider it fixed. 🙂

  3. January 20, 2012 at 4:05 pm

    Looks like The Memory of Love & Half of a Yellow Sun overlap. I am reading a different El Saadawi. Very interesting list. I am definitely planning on plundering Amy & Kinna’s blogs for further suggestions when I start reading my library (if I ever get to that point, I read surprisingly slow this year).

    Good luck with the challenge. I’m sure it will be wonderful!

  1. February 20, 2013 at 5:28 pm
  2. February 2, 2014 at 7:36 pm

Leave a comment